Spiritual experience

What is the ultimate spiritual experience? I am dissapointed at the way most modern religions are taking shape. I know they are doing the best they can to convey a very tough message which can never be completely expressed in words. After all, Buddha said that the truth itself can never be “known”, only experienced. It does not help that there are many thieves and devils who walk amongst us, in pure human shape, devouring our faith. But that is no excuse for our lack of faith. On the Judgement Day if God asks :  “I had put on earth all that you needed to believe. Why did you not uncover them? Why did you never look for them?”, I cant fault him.

Some common mistakes I have found in attitudes are as follows :

God : A genie which came out of the bottle

  • “God cured me of my tumour”
  • “God cleared all my debts”
  • “God did so and so for me”

which quickly turns into

  • “Why God does not answer my prayers?”
  • “Why is God so cruel to me?”

Now I know the most common argument against this are the verses in the Bible written to say that so many people believed in Jesus and His disciples when they saw the miracles. But think about that for moment : Which miracle convinced Jesus Christ of the Truth? Do we try to be like Jesus Christ or his followers?

God as a police man

  • “God is Just. He will give me the fruit for my hard work”

which quickly turns into

  • “What good is all the religions of this world, if it cannot bring peace to this world, feed the hungry and end people’s suffering?”

and my personal favourite

  • “God will give him what he deserves”

Seriously, does he believe god to be his Gunda?

Spirituality must be something more than all this. But unfortunately, my search for answers only leads to more questions.

One thought on “Spiritual experience

  1. …………………………………………………………………………………………………………………..

    ok onume puriyele thambi……..

Leave a Reply

